14th November 2015: Mozart’s Clarinet Quintet

A Year 12 clarinettist joined one of our regular string quartets on a Saturday morning to work on Mozart’s Clarinet Quintet, here’s what he had to say…

One of the main reasons I chose to come to the Purcell school, apart from the very best individual teaching, was the chamber music programme within the school. So far I have found this to be excellent and very enjoyable. When I was told I would be able to participate in the Saturday Morning chamber morning programme run at the school, I was delighted at the prospect of playing with strings, something I as a clarinettist have never done before in a chamber setting.

 

As I had never played with strings before, I didn’t really know what to expect. I was very pleasantly surprised at how well the first rehearsal went and how much I enjoyed it. The people in my group were all very friendly and easy to play and, a big problem for wind players, blend with. The tutor, a violinist, had great ideas about the piece and worked well with the group to experiment with the music. I am looking forward to the next session.​

